Small….. But perfectly formed – 6mm size comparisons

Hello all. No painting or modelling today I’m afraid, but instead something that may be useful to some.

I’ve been putting off buying some of the Defeat in Detail Novan Elites for quite some time now, not sure as to whether they would look very good or be wildly out of proportion with any other figures suitable for this diminutive scale. Over the last couple of years I’ve been impulse buying 6mm figures from Microworld Games and Onslaught Miniatures (and random purchases of Spartan Games’ Dystopian Wars and Planetfall, but more on that Later) in the hope of creating some kind of 30k 6mm armies, unfortunately I never really focused enough on the project and it’s languished in neglect for too long.

One of the main issues I had was finding any images illustrating the sizes of the figures in comparison with one another, so I’ve taken some pictures of some of my little chaps:

Big Group

from the left we have: Epic Armageddon Predator (turretless), OM (Onslaught Minis) Corrupted Athena, OM Athena Defender, DiD (Defeat in Detail) Novan Elite, OM Hellborn Cultist, MG (Microworld Games) Cyclopean Demon, OM Minerva, OM Nemesis Bike.

Small Group

Again from the left: SG (Spartan Games) Faust Battle Robot, OM Athena Defender, DiD Novan Elite, EW (Exodus Wars) Edenite Jump Infantry and finally the Hellborn Cultist again.

I think I have enough of a selection for pretty much most of the armies I would want to make, these being: A variety of Astartes Legions, Custodes and Mechanicus.

I’ve made a tentative start on the Mechanicus and this is where some of the varied Spartan Games purchased are going to come into their own. The Dystopian Wars range looks pretty good for the steampunkish look of the Mechanicum (and would probably look fine with a legion like the Iron Warriors). Here is a little sneek peek of some of Mechanicus hardware:

Mechanicum Hardware

I think they’ll work nicely. Also, a group of Skitarii have scrounged a gunship from somewhere:

Skitarii Dropship

It’ll need some bits and bobs tacked on, probably from the extremely useful 40k Skitarii sprues, coils and whatnot. Once that’s done I think it’ll make a pretty serviceable piece of kit.

Oh, and if anyone is wondering what army lists I’m using the short answer is I’m just trying to throw together fun units that I think should exist…… I don’t really know any of the rules.

Thanks for looking!

Small….. But perfectly formed – 6mm size comparisons

Leave a Reply

