Playing with some new paints, a 15mm sample

Since I’ve been stuck at home all half term while my small human has been on antibiotics I turned to the internet and shopped. Damn this modern age and it’s accursed convenience.

Among other things I purchased a selection of Scale 75 paints, basically because I’m a sucker for anything slick which promises awesomeness. Not only that but I’ve found myself getting a bit disappointed with my results recently, and being quite a lazy painter I thought some different paints would rekindle the love of painting a bit. Also I have decided to drastically reduce my palette, how many different browns and greens and blues do I actually need? Turning instead to a much more limited array of quite bright colours since I was losing myself and miniatures in a sea of bottles and pots! (there must’ve easily been more than a hundred from various manufacturers – things like a Deck Tan which I only used once and didn’t in fact like very much, as well as things like German Camo Green, Field Grey, Russian Uniform and on and on).

So, without further ado, here are a couple of minis. The figure on the left is painted with Scale 75 and the one on the right with Vallejo and GW.

So why, I hear you ask, go to the troble and expense of getting new paints? Well sometimes I have to literally purge and then start again from scratch. I was increasingly becoming a bit frustrated that no matter how much I tried to brighten a colour, it always looked a bit chalky or if I didn’t choose to highlight then the figures would look as dull as dishwater once away from the daylight bulb! As a result I thought -to hell with it – and bought some of Scale 75’s Fantasy range, which I had heard were formulated to be brighter than their more sensible offerings.

In a word I’d declare myself to be happy with the results. The colours I chose were surprisingly free flowing (even when thoroughly mixed with a stick) and I was surprised how well they covered – and they really do dry to a very matt finish. Adding white seemed to brighten the colour as opposed to bleach it, something which has probably been a personal painting problem – but these paints seem to make my life a bit easier.

While I totally understand people wanting realism and grittiness in their painting, I personally prefer a bit of Jazziness. Also, miniatures are quite small (particularly the 10mm ones) and my heart always sinks a bit when I get them out to play with and find them so much less striking once taken away from those many hours under the painting lamp.

Thanks for looking

 

Playing with some new paints, a 15mm sample

4 thoughts on “Playing with some new paints, a 15mm sample

  1. That turquoise looks great! A couple of years ago I stumped up for some commission painted 15mm, just to see the difference – aside from the general neatness the thing I noticed was how ‘high’ the highlights went – almost up to white. It’s fairly easy because the surface area is so small. Certainly something I try now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers for the comment. I’ve never had a chance to examine any professional work up close without it being nicely lit, but I’ve heard similar to your almost white highlights observation. It’s the transition to the white that always gets me in a bit of a funk though! I’ve just started on a 28mm figure and have seen some rather nice, almost expressive, ‘messy’ painting which reminds me more of traditional painting and techniques which i’m going to try and emulate.

      Like

    1. Cheers Mark. I’d read a little about the paints, and thought I was being a bit of a dummy by buying into their trendy rep. That said I’m now quite pleased I took the plunge since they have some quite nice colours in their fantasy range, and they are quite nice and bright without being too translucent which can’t be bad!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

