10mm Vampire WIP and the start of a fantasy Hero gang

Two posts…. less than six weeks apart….. I’m spoiling you! This time I thought I’d just show the work in progress of my Vampire Count, “One!…. ah…. ah…. ah, Two!…. ah….. ah….. ah” well you get the idea.

vampire-count

Still needs quite a bit of work. Lots to do on the cape (with Lugosi collar), slicked back hair and other details like a bag of jewels all need doing but I think you get a good idea of where he’s going. Dare I pop a couple of fangs in?

I also thought I’d throw together a little Hero team since I’ve been reading the Otherworld Fantasy Skirmish rulebook and think it looks pretty bloody good! I’ve got quite a few baddies in the form of Goblins and some spooks ready for painting, but no Heroes. So here’s me attempting to solve that problem.

hero-club

We have a Halfling Rogue (I guess) from Eureka, a Wizard from the GW Flagellant unit, a Veteran from Warmonger Miniatures and a Dwarf with a drinking problem and a slightly drooping sword (the ravages of drink indeed) from the GW Rangers unit. Some nice models which cover a few archetypes that I’m looking forward to painting.

Returning to the Otherworld rules, there are no Campaign style rules included but there are some officially sanctioned ones available for download which seem pretty sensible. However, I’ve been reading through some D&D and Frostgave books and think that there could be a bit of a rules mashup. The hope would be to combine the interesting looking gameplay of Otherworld with the character development of D&D (on a much more simplified level) along with the very fun base building found in Frostgrave. I found my somewhat damp damaged copy of the D&D 3rd editon Stronghold Builder’s Guidebook and think it could be a wonderful sourcebook for the base development aspect…….. giving me the opportunity to actually build a base for my Heroes in X-COM style, but FANTASY! What’s not to love?

In other news, I’ve been bulking out the dollies for two more half Ogres and even got some pore paint on a scenic piece. Yay!

Thanks for looking.

10mm Vampire WIP and the start of a fantasy Hero gang

Leave a Reply

