Fantasy Arabians Progress Continues

So, after a failed attempt to go away on holiday, the Summer is now truly upon us. Fortunately I’ve been able to get some more work done on the sculpting side of things and even got around to gluing my pikemen onto stands (no pictures until their bases are all nicely painted and flocked though!).

The sculpting continues apace and I’m starting to get my head around the idea of doing more than one thing at a time, here are a couple of shots of the slow but steady progress:

 

18 07 16 1

18 07 16 2

It’s actually turning out to be quite a bit of fun sculpting these, after my initial sense of dread and of being in a bit over my head I’m getting comfortable with making mistakes and doing my best to learn from them.

I’m also getting daring……. I’ve got an idea for some allies/nominal subjects for my Arabians. From the ever shifting dunes the great wandering tribes of the desert Trolls emerge to fight for the great Merchant Princes of the Arabian city states, lured by the generous and pay and more likely the more than generous post battle feasing! Here’s a sneak peek for scale:

18 07 16 3

Yep, I know, not much to go on….. but the idea is in my head and taking shape!

Also converting some 6mm scale tanks to start an Epic Nurgle army…. without using any army lists and using whatever stuff I’ve been hoarding whenever I get tempted to buy 6mm sci-fi stuff. Confession time, I bought a couple of packs of Onslaught Miniatures Hellborn Cultists which are lovely – if a bit pricey, also 6mm really isn’t great for detail so I can’t help but think some of the 3D CAD image printing is a bit less razzle-dazzle than one would hope. Still, nice to get more models!

Thanks for looking.

Fantasy Arabians Progress Continues

3 thoughts on “Fantasy Arabians Progress Continues

  1. Hi Mark, thanks for taking the time to look at what I’m up to. For sculpting the main tool I use is similar to the one marked O-S of the four tools shown on this page:
    http://beesputty.com/index.php/sculptingtools/resinmann-201.html
    I pretty much use it for 99% of what I sculpt so for me it’s the ultimate tool, I’m sure there is similar around and my version was much cheaper, although I bought it more than 10 years ago on a whim in a model shop. Also a set of these embossing tools are great for smoothing and pock-marking:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Embossing-Tool-Double-Ended-Soft-Grip-Embossing-Styling-Tools-Embosser-Pack-x3-/201602523256?hash=item2ef0726078:g:xdYAAOSw37tV-S-h
    For putty I use ProCreate putty, which seems to be much less sticky than greenstuff. Also, I’ve no idea if this is a good idea or not, but I use Tamiya x-20A thinner in the tiniest (and I mean only a breath of it on the tooltip) amount to prevent the putty from sticking to the tools….. I think it’s some mix of alcohol, but it seems to be working for me so far!
    Thanks again for your interest and I hope this has helped.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It has. I have been thinking of doing something like this when winter sets in and golf dies (I am in Massachusetts and winter here is pretty brutal). I do cast and make molds, mainly of old Ral Partha and Archive OOP figures (not even available through Iron Winds Metals) so I can make units. I did one conversion for myself and some friends where I combined a Reaper figure and a Ral Partha Rooman for a Space Rooman – this is all on my blog at markamorin.com if you are interested. Of course, sculpting would be another thing to try if I could get the hang of it, but 10mm is impressive on your part, I’d be afraid to go less than 25mm. Do you cast these as well (your figures)? Spin cast or gravity cast? I only gravity cast as I have no room for a centrifuge!
    Thanks again for the response and the posts. Glad I found your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

