Warmaster Goblin, Chaos Dwarf Maggot Monster and Araby Elite Musketeer test

A nice big update today gentle reader. I’ve been lucky enough to have a couple of evening being able to indulge the hobby and have some items to show.

First of all is the next Gobbo for the Mordheim warband. This time a rather mean little fellow wielding a pair of rusty blades, so any adversary had best make sure that they’re up to date with their jabs. Another of the Polar Fox horde, this chap once again proved to be a joy to paint (how much of a joy when painting up the full army, well, that remains to be seen), there’s so much detail crammed onto the model so he’s complete with a looted shield and a fancy stolen coin purse….. when asked the Goblin said the owner didn’t need it for ‘naffink’ anymore.

Next we have my test models for my Araby army. These are going to be some Elite Musketeer types, maybe a mercenary company recruited from some ever irritable mountain tribe who are dab hands at picking off enemies at great distances with their alarmingly accurate jezails. I pretty happy with this colour scheme so I think I’ll be getting the rest of the unit painted up soon. These chaps came in the Pendraken Renaissance Ottoman Army pack and I’m really impressed with the sculpts.

Pendraken Araby 2

And finally the big one. I found this Maggot in a bargain bin and decided that it would have to be the centrepiece of my Chaos/League of Evil army. The fluff is that the colossal Maggot monster has been lured from the depths and enslaved by a Chaos Dwarf sorcerer and has become an aggressive and repulsive beast of burden for the Chaos Dwarf’s terrifying weapons of war.

Currently very much a work in progress, I’ve got the basic shape organised so I need to get more cladding done and then the all important accessorising! I’ve got a pile of old Lizardmen weapons and do-dads, which are by far the spikiest thing I own, which will be cannibalised to get that howdah looking pretty damn jazzy.

Maggot 1

Maggot 2

Charging at a pair of surprisingly brave (or drugged) Goblins to give an idea of the scale of this hideous beast!

Maggot 3

I thought I’d mention that I magnetised the cannon that I’ll be using so that I can change the type of weapon carried on the beast.

Maggot 4

Still lots to do like armour plates and spikes, but you get the gist I’m sure. The whole howdah will also be removable from the Maggot so if I make a better one it can always be replaced.

Thanks for looking!

Warmaster Goblin, Chaos Dwarf Maggot Monster and Araby Elite Musketeer test

Leave a Reply

